The Milan Kundera BibliographyMilan Kundera


  • Man: A Broad Garden, 1953 
  • The Last May, 1954-1955-1961 
  • Monologues, 1957-1964-1965


  • The Owner of the Keys, 1962. 
  • Two Ears,Two Weddings (Slowness), 1968
  • The Blunder, 1969
  • Jaques and His Master, 1971 (Hommage to Diderot in 3 acts)

The Joke
Laughable Loves
Life is Elsewhere
The Farewell Waltz
The Book of Laughter and Forgetting
The Unbearable Lightness of Being

  • The Joke, 1965 
  • Laughable Loves, 3 parts: 1963-1965-1968, complete 1969
  • Life is Elsewhere, 1969/70
  • The Farewell Waltz (earlier translation: Party), 1970/71 
  • The Book of Laughter and Forgetting, 1978 
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being, 1982
  • Immortality, 1988
  • Slowness, 1994.
  • Identity, 1996
  • Ignorance, 2000

Essays:  Click & buy: Testaments BetrayedClick & Buy: The Art of the Novel

  • About the Disputes of Inheritance, 1955 (an essay on the problem of creative trends in the Czech literature)
  • The Art of the Novel, 1960 (essay on Vladislav Vanèura)
  • The Czech Deal, 1968 (essay on the problem of the position of the Czech culture in the actual politic situation)
  • Radicalism and Exhibitionism, 1969 (essay as answer to Vaclav Havels polemic reaction to “The Czech Deal”
  • The Stolen West or the Tragedy of Central Europe, 1983
  • The Art of the Novel, essay in 7 parts, 1985 (essay about literature and the tradition of the novel in European culture)
  • Testaments Betrayed, essay in 9 parts, 1992

(You can buy all the books directly with through clicking on the pictures)



Zur deutschen Seite!
You are in the English Version!